Scientific Team

Joseph Araujo

Chief Scientific Officer & Director
  • President and CEO of InterVivo Solutions, a specialized CRO focused on optimizing translational services to facilitate the development of CNS drugs.
  • More than 35 refereed publications and several invited presentations, which focus on natural aged canine models of human disease.
  •  Has co-founded, held executive positions and consulted for Life Science companies including CanCog Technologies, Vivocore, Karyopharm Therapeutics, NPM Pharma and Ketogen.
  •  Has conducted extensive research examining psychoactive drugs.

Malik Slassi

Senior VP of Innovation
  • Founder, President & Chief Scientific Officer of Fluorinov Pharma Inc. acquired by Trillium Therapeutics in January 2016.
  • 30 + years of experience in successful identification & development of small molecule drug candidates across multiple therapeutic areas, including CNS.  
  • Former Senior Vice President of Discovery Research at Trillium Therapeutics and Vice President of Medicinal Chemistry, Manufacturing & Development at Cascade Therapeutics, and earlier Dr. Slassi held management & scientific positions at Allelix Biopharmaceuticals, Bio-Mega/Boehringer-Ingelheim Research and NPS Pharmaceuticals.
  • Involved in multinational R&D collaborations with Hoechst AG (Sanofi-Aventis), AstraZeneca, Johnson & Johnson, Forest Laboratories, GlaxoSmithKline, Memory and Shire Pharmaceuticals.
  • Over 24 drug candidates advanced into late-stage preclinical, clinical development & market; co-authored over 65  research papers and review articles, and he is an inventor of over 130 issued patents & patent applications.
  • Holds a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Claude Bernard, Lyon, France and completed his postdoctoral work in the Chemistry Department at the University of Montreal, Canada.

Michael Rogawski

M.D., Ph.D.
Scientific Advisor
  • Professor of Neurology and Pharmacology at the University of California, Davis School of Medicine.
  • Serves as lead of the University of California Drug Discovery Consortium.
  • Formerly chief of the Epilepsy Research Section at the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.
  • Member of board of directors of the American Epilepsy Society.
  •  Authored more than 275 research papers, reviews, and book chapters, and edited five books.
  • Received M.D. and Ph.D. (Pharmacology) from Yale and trained in neurology at Johns Hopkins.

Guy Higgins

Scientific Advisor
  • 20+ years leading International CNS Research and Development experience with major BioPharma organisations such as Glaxo-Wellcome, Hoffmann-La Roche, Schering Plough and NPS Pharmaceuticals.
  • Supported the identification and progression of novel chemical entities from early discovery through to clinical development (> 10 entering IND phase, 3 to market).
  • Significant background in serotonin research both in terms of contributions to drug discovery programs and applied research.
  • Co-authored over 150 research papers and review articles covering aspects of CNS pharmacology, drug discovery and behavioural neuroscience. Over 70 publications in serotonin based research.
  • Received PhD in 1990 and currently holds the position of Adjunct Professor in the Pharmacology department at the University of Toronto.

Joseph Gabriele

Scientific Advisor
  • Co-founder of Delivra Corp, a transdermal delivery platform that can shuttle small biologics to large peptides across the skin layers in a targeted, specific manner.
  • Has received numerous awards throughout his career including a Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) studentship award in pharmacology, a Natural Sciences andEngineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Graduate Scholarship, and an Ontario Mental Health Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship.
  • In 2007, he received the International Congress on Schizophrenia Research "New Investigator Award," and in 2008, the Hamilton Health Sciences "New Investigator Award."
  • In 2018, Dr. Gabriele was the recipient of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year in the health care category.
  • Received his B.Sc degree from the University of Toronto, while his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees were received from McMaster University.